The Chakra System: An Introduction


The word chakra (pronounced shock-rah) is derived from the Sanskrit word cakram, meaning wheel, sphere, or vortex of light. For thousands of years, people on many different spiritual paths, especially the Indian Hindus and Tibetans, have believed that the body contains different chakras or energy points, and that these chakras can be balanced for overall well being. Often associated with yogic practices, the chakra system found its way to Western culture in the 20th century.

Working on the chakra system is the practice of balancing the chakras in the body. Practitioners believe that working on the chakra system is important because it helps to keep a person healthy on all levels — physically, emotionally, mentally, and spiritually.

According to practitioners, there are numerous chakras throughout the body, but the ones that are most well known are the 7 which reside along the spinal column, as well as the ones located in the palms of the hands and on the bottoms of the feet. These spheres or wheels of light are energetic connections to the various systems and organs in the physical body as well as the subtle energy bodies. The chakras work with each other to help keep the physical body active, balanced, and strong.

Seven Main Chakras

First Chakra

Name: Root Chakra, Sanskrit name Muladhara
Description: Red with 4 petals
Location: Base of the spine
Purpose and Activity: Grounds ones energies to the earth. Works with the primal energies such as survival, security, and safety.

Second Chakra

Name: Naval or Sacral Chakra, Sanskrit name Svadhisthana
Description: Orange with 6 petals
Location: Inch or two below the naval
Purpose and Activity: Connected to one's creativity (e.g., creating a new business or having a baby). Works at the intuitive or “gut” level.

Third Chakra

Name: Solar Plexus Chakra, Sanskrit name Manipura
Description: Yellow with 10 petals
Location: Just beneath the breast bone
Purpose and Activity: Center of personal power. Helps one to transform and manifest; provides a strong sense of self respect; makes those things happen in our life we choose to create.

Fourth Chakra

Name: Heart Chakra, Sanskrit name Anahata
Description: Green or pink with 12 petals
Location: Center of the chest
Purpose and Activity: Balance of In and Yo, Yin and Yang, male and female. Compassion and the connection to self love and the ability to love others without judgment.

Fifth Chakra

Name: Throat Chakra, Sanskrit name Vishuddha
Description: Light blue with 16 petals
Location: Bottom of the neck
Purpose and Activity: Connection to one's ability to communicate. Enables one to speak one's truth and to truly listen to the truth of others, to hear their story.

Sixth Chakra

Name: Third Eye Chakra, Sanskrit name Ajna
Description: Indigo with 2 large petals, each having 48 tiny petals within them
Location: At the brow center between the eyes
Purpose and Activity: Connection to insight and to one's angels, guides, ancestors, and animal spirits. Helps psychic connection to others — clients, family, friends, and pets.

Seventh Chakra

Name: Crown Chakra, Sanskrit name Sahasrara
Description: Golden violet with 12 golden petals in the center surrounded by 960 violet petals for a total 972, but it is referred to as the thousand petal lotus.
Location: Top of the head
Purpose and Activity: One's connection to the divine, as one sees it. Symbolizes detachment from illusion as well as one's purpose and destiny.

Enjoy the connection.

Technorati Tags: , ,

Bookmark on

No comments yet. Be the first.

Add a Comment

Your comments will need to be approved before appearing on the blog. Some comments may be edited. Thanks for your patience.

You must be logged in to post a comment.